City of Hamilton City of Hamilton
Submit SearchSubmit Search
City of Hamilton

Hamilton Municipal Cemeteries


The City of Hamilton is comprised of six former municipalities as the result of provincially-legislated amalgamation in 2001.  The former Regional Municipality of Hamilton-Wentworth was amalgamated into a unified City of Hamilton.  This merger included the former City of Stoney Creek, the Towns of Ancaster, Dundas and Flamborough as well as the Township of Glanbrook.  Hamilton is ranked as the tenth largest City in Canada with a population that exceeds 500,000 residents.

At the time of amalgamation, the Hamilton Municipal Cemeteries increased in size from 15 cemeteries to 67 cemeteries across the entire City of Hamilton.  Please see List of Cemeteries

The Hamilton Municipal Cemeteries is a section of the Environmental Services Division, Public Works Department, of the City of Hamilton.

Stories in Stones

Hamilton Municipal Cemeteries are like museums, with their headstones serving as a record of our culture and social history. Through an enduring stone, they reflect personal and national sentiment; speak of love, pity, and patriotism. They summarize the lives of remarkable longevity and remind us of lives lost through tragedy.

Many of Hamilton’s colourful characters and history lie buried in our cemeteries. The cemetery tour – The Stories In The Stones - tells their fascinating stories through free guided walking tours at Hamilton Cemetery.