Neighbourhood Action Strategy

The City of Hamilton’s Neighbourhood Action Strategy is focused on helping neighbourhoods be great places to live, work, play and learn. The City is working with community partners, neighbourhood groups and residents to develop action plans to build healthier communities. The core elements of this work are:

  1. Enhancing community development work
    Through partnerships with the Hamilton Community Foundation and Hamilton Best Start, community development workers work together to support the residents in 11 Hamilton neighbourhoods.
     
  2. Developing resident-led Neighbourhood Plans
    The City facilitates the neighbourhood planning process and helps build effective solutions that focus on areas/ actions residents and key stakeholders feel are necessary.
     
  3. Increasing investments in neighbourhoods
    Once neighbourhood plans are developed, new investments are required to support the improvements that residents have identified. City Council has earmarked $2 million in neighbourhood funding to help leverage additional investments from private, public and philanthropic sources.
     
  4. Building new partnerships to support healthy neighbourhoods
    Working with businesses, Provincial and Federal governments and non-profit organizations, work will begin to align existing resources and find new investments that can support neighbourhoods.

City staff, residents and other key stakeholders are working together to create neighbourhood action plans that communicate a clear vision for the future of the neighbourhood and describe specific projects that can be implemented, are achievable, and have widespread community support. These plans are being developed in six neighbourhoods identified by Council as priority areas, as well as five other areas that have been supported in the past by the Hamilton Community Foundation's neighbourhood investments. 

As an on-going support to residents, businesses and organizations in neighbourhoods, community development workers help connect people to their neighbourhood and help neighbourhoods plan for their future development. Our current team of community development workers are:

Sunil Angrish, Community Animator - Ward 2
Phone: 289-689-3330
sangrish@sprc.hamilton.on.ca 

Brandon Braithwaite, Community Developer - Jamesville & Beasley
Phone: 905-746-2382
 bbraithwaite@sprc.hamilton.on.ca

Dave Cherkewski, Community Animator - Ward 2
Phone: 905-527-0479
dcherkewski@sprc.hamilton.on.ca 

David Derbyshire, Community Developer - Keith & City Wide
Phone: 905-818-1713
dderbyshire@sprc.hamilton.on.ca

Judy Kloosterman, Community Developer - Sherman & Davis Creek
Phone: 905-516-6383
jkloosterman@sprc.hamilton.on.ca

Laura Ryan, Community Developer - McQuesten & Rolston
Phone: 905-317-1791
lryan@sprc.hamilton.on.ca

Kelly McKinney, Community Animator - McQuesten Urban Farm
Phone: 289-244-7105
kmckinney@sprc.hamilton.on.ca

Lyna Saad, Community Developer - Crown Point & Stinson
Phone: 905-522-1148 ext. 0
lsaad@sprc.hamilton.on.ca 

Syed-Hamid Yazdani, Community Developer - Riverdale & GALA
Phone: 289-489-7700
syazdani@sprc.hamilton.on.ca

Nazia Zeb, Community Developer Assistant - Riverdale
Phone: 289-400-4612
nzeb@sprc.hamilton.on.ca

Contact Us

Neighbourhood Action Strategy Office
Irene Heffernan, Acting Manager of Neighbourhood Action Strategy
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 4711
Email: irene.heffernan@hamilton.ca