Workshops & Immersive Experiences

Join us for historic workshops and immersive experiences at the cultural sites owned and operated by the City of Hamilton. 

Pre-registration is required.

MacNab's Kitchen - Groups of 15 or more

Assisted by Dundurn’s Cook Demonstrators, guests will work together to make a traditional recipe in our historic kitchen. Visitors will also have the opportunity to explore with costumed staff over 40 rooms and discover the history of the MacNab family and the servants who lived and worked below stairs to support their affluent lifestyle. Learn more about the experience

 

Historic Cooking Workshop: Strawberry Soiree

Friday, June 28, 2019
5:00 pm to 7:30 pm

Discover this delicious heart shaped fruit’s legacy in a delightful hands-on cooking experience.

Behind the Scenes Interpreter-led Tour

Saturday, July 6, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

Behind the Scenes Curator-led Tour

Monday, July 8, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

Dundurn at Dusk

Friday, July 19, 2019
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Led by costumed gardeners, join us to experience the sights and scents of flowering plants best enjoyed as the sun sets.

Behind the Scenes Interpreter-led Tour

Saturday, July 20, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

Historic Cooking Workshop: Plant Bake Hunt Eat

Sunday, July 21, 2019
10:00 am to 12:30 pm

Join our costumed interpreters for a hands-on workshop packed with family friendly fun.

Dundurn at Dusk

Friday, July 26, 2019
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Led by costumed gardeners, join us to experience the sights and scents of flowering plants best enjoyed as the sun sets.

MacNab’s Kitchen

Saturday, July 27, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Led by costumed staff, visitors will explore over 40 rooms and discover the history of the MacNab family and the servants who lived and worked belo

The Heights: A War of 1812 Tour of Dundurn National Historic Site

Sunday, July 28, 2019
9:30 am to 11:30 am

A guided tour of Dundurn Castle, including the Military Museum. Pre-registration is required.

Behind the Scenes Interpreter-led Tour

Saturday, August 3, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

Teen Quilt Academy

Monday, August 12, 2019 to Friday, August 16, 2019
10:00 am to 4:00 pm

Join us for week-long camp that fosters sewing and fibre arts. Participants will finish a twin-sized quilt.

Behind the Scenes Interpreter-led Tour

Saturday, August 17, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

MacNab’s Kitchen

Saturday, August 24, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Led by costumed staff, visitors will explore over 40 rooms and discover the history of the MacNab family and the servants who lived and worked belo

The Heights: A War of 1812 Tour of Dundurn National Historic Site

Sunday, August 25, 2019
9:30 am to 11:30 am

A guided tour of Dundurn Castle, including the Military Museum. Pre-registration is required.

Behind the Scenes Curator-led Tour

Monday, August 26, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

Behind the Scenes Interpreter-led Tour

Saturday, August 31, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

Behind the Scenes Curator-led Tour

Monday, September 9, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

The Heights: A War of 1812 Tour of Dundurn National Historic Site

Sunday, September 22, 2019
9:30 am to 11:30 am

A guided tour of Dundurn Castle, including the Military Museum. Pre-registration is required.

MacNab’s Kitchen

Saturday, September 28, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Led by costumed staff, visitors will explore over 40 rooms and discover the history of the MacNab family and the servants who lived and worked belo

Behind the Scenes Curator-led Tour

Monday, October 7, 2019
10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Discover this National Historic Site from an entirely different perspective.

An Evening with Jane Austen

Saturday, November 23, 2019
7:00 pm to 10:00 pm

Join us as we celebrate the writings of author Jane Austen and help bring the charm of the early 19th century to life with fashion, music, dancing

One Day Medieval Illumination Workshop

Sunday, November 24, 2019
10:00 am to 3:30 pm

Enjoy this one-day opportunity to create your own special project using the processes of Medieval Illumination.

Historic Cooking Workshop: Dough-Re-Me

Saturday, November 30, 2019
9:00 am to 12:00 pm

Family fun is on the menu! Prepare some tasty treats in the historic kitchen below stairs. Pre-registration is required.

Historic Cooking Workshop: Victorian Christmas Delights

Sunday, December 1, 2019
9:00 am to 12:00 pm

Enjoy an authentic Victorian Christmas cooking experience at Dundurn. Pre-registration required.

Historic Cooking Workshop: Delicious Desserts

Friday, December 6, 2019
6:30 pm to 8:30 pm

Baking for the holidays is a large part of many household traditions. Pre-registration required.

Christmas Evening Tours at Dundurn

Saturday, December 7, 2019 to Sunday, December 8, 2019
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Enjoy a unique opportunity to see Dundurn Castle decorated for Christmas in the evening. Pre-registration is required.

The Big Sing!

Friday, December 13, 2019
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Embrace the holiday spirit at the historic Ancaster Old Town Hall and enjoy live music with hot cider and treats.

Christmas Evening Tours at Dundurn

Friday, December 13, 2019 to Sunday, December 15, 2019
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Enjoy a unique opportunity to see Dundurn Castle decorated for Christmas in the evening. Pre-registration is required.

Christmas Evening Tours at Dundurn

Friday, December 20, 2019 to Sunday, December 22, 2019
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Enjoy a unique opportunity to see Dundurn Castle decorated for Christmas in the evening. Pre-registration is required.

Ring in the New Year

Friday, December 27, 2019 to Sunday, December 29, 2019
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Enjoy a unique opportunity to see Dundurn Castle decorated for Christmas in the evening. Pre-registration required.