Communications & Media Relations

Clear and on-going communication with residents is a top priority for the City of Hamilton. As part of this process, we issue news releases to the local media with important information on City programs, services and other initiatives. You will find news releases posted here from the moment they’re made available to journalists. If you’ve read or heard a story concerning the City of Hamilton, and you’d like more information, contact one of our Communications Officers.

Key contacts

Office of the Mayor Michelle Shantz
Communications and Media Advisor
Office of Mayor Fred Eisenberger
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 4225
Email: michelle.shantz@hamilton.ca
City Manager's Office

John Hertel
Director, Strategic Partnerships & Communications

For general media inquiries contact:
Jen Recine
Manager, Communications
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 4970
Email: jen.recine@hamilton.ca

Healthy & Safe Communities

  • Recreation
  • Housing
  • Child Care/Early Years
  • Neighbourhood Development
  • Long-Term Care
  • Ontario Works
  • Fire
  • Paramedics
  • Public Health Services

Allison Jones
Communications Officer
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 3810
Email: allison.jones@hamilton.ca

Michelle Williams
Communications Officer
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 5540
Email: michelle.williams@hamilton.ca

Aisling Higgins 
Communications Officer - Public Health Services
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 2643
Email: aisling.higgins@hamilton.ca

Planning & Economic Development

  • Planning (development applications, heritage)
  • Building (permits, inspections)
  • Economic Development
  • Tourism & Culture
  • Growth Management
  • Waterfront
  • Animal Services
  • Parking
  • Municipal Law Enforcement

Marie Fitzpatrick 
Communications Officer
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 3488
Email: marie.fitzpatrick@hamilton.ca

For inquiries about general economic development contact:
Michael Marini
Marketing Coordinator
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext.1781
Email: michael.marini@hamilton.ca

Public Works
  • Capital Planning and Road Construction
  • Parks and Cemeteries
  • Forestry
  • Road Operations & Maintenance
  • Traffic Engineering & Operations
  • Transit
  • Waste Management
  • Water and Wastewater

Jasmine Graham
Communications Officer
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 1430
Email: jasmine.graham@hamilton.ca

Amanda Kinnaird
Communications Officer - Transit
Email: amanda.kinnaird@hamilton.ca

Cindy Csordas
Communications Officer - Video Production
Email: cindy.csordas@hamilton.ca

Light Rail Transit

Suzanne Vukosavljevic
Acting Manager of Communications and Engagement
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 6389
Email: suzanne.vukosavljevic@hamilton.ca

Corporate Services and Human Resources

Jacqueline Durlov
Communications Officer
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 2221
Email: jacqueline.durlov@hamilton.ca

Hamilton Fire Department Email: HFDmediarelations@hamilton.ca
Hamilton Paramedic Service - Onsite Media Contact Phone: 905-540-5782
Hamilton Police Service Media Relations Officer
Phone: 905-546-4901

Hamilton Public Library

Shelley McKay
Manager, Communications
Phone: 905-546-3200 ext. 5934
Email: smckay@hpl.ca