

CITY OF HAMILTON

DECISION of the ELECTION COMPLIANCE AUDIT COMMITTEE

established under Section 88.37(1) of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996 (the "Act")

A COMPLIANCE AUDIT APPLICATION RESPECTING THE ELECTION CAMPAIGN FINANCES OF C. KENNEDY, CANDIDATE, WARD 4

With respect to the meeting of the Election Compliance Audit Committee (the "Committee") held on May 11, 2023 to deal with the Application for an Election Compliance Audit brought forward by Pascale Marchand (the "Applicant") concerning the Financial Statement of Cindy Kennedy (the "Candidate"), the Committee has decided to reject the application.

The Committee, after considering the evidence and submissions, is in agreement that there are reasonable grounds that there was a breach of the Act, and as such, has the authority to order a compliance audit. The Candidate acknowledged that they did not properly complete the Financial Statement - Form 4 as they failed to include relevant donations and election campaign related expenses as indicated by the Applicant.

In the Superior Court rulings of Lancaster v. Compliance Audit Committee et al., 2013 ONSC 7631 and Vezina v. Parrish, 2013 ONSC 2368, it was held the ordering of compliance audit is discretionary. The Committee believes that a compliance audit is not warranted as it would not reveal further information related to this matter nor would additional information emerge from an audit.

Election Compliance Audit Committee Decision respecting the Campaign Finances of Cindy Kennedy (Candidate) Page 2 of 2

The Committee cautions the Candidate that it is a serious matter when the values of public accountability and transparency are not met during an election campaign and that compliance with the financial filing requirements of the Act are the sole responsibility of the Candidate. Further, the Committee strongly emphasizes that this decision should not be construed as permissive in terms of any violations of the Act.

Dated at the City of Hamilton this 12th day of May, 2023.

Written and approved by the following Committee Members:

Cal DiFalco, Chair

Jonathan van der Heiden

nda Lister, Vice-Chair

MMAN E. SAUMDERS

Vivian Saunders