

CITY OF HAMILTON

DECISION of the ELECTION COMPLIANCE AUDIT COMMITTEE

established under Section 88.37(1) of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996 (the "Act")

A CLERK'S REPORT RESPECTING A CONTRIBUTOR WHO APPEARS TO HAVE EXCEEDED ANY OF THE CONTRIBUTION LIMITS UNDER SECTION 88.9 OF THE ACT

DARIVOJ VRANICH

With respect to the meeting of the Election Compliance Audit Committee (the "Committee") held on November 23, 2023, to consider the Clerk's Report (FCS23069(a)) concerning the contributions made by Darivoj Vranich (the "Contributor") to the 2022 Election Campaign (the "Campaign") of Andrea Horwath (the "Candidate"):

As a result of the Clerk's review of contributions reported on the financial statements submitted by candidates following the supplementary filing date, the Clerk has identified an increase in the total amount of contributions made by the Contributor as initially reported in FCS23069 and which has already been the subject of a decision by the Committee to commence legal proceedings. The additional contribution made by the Contributor during the Supplementary Reporting Period is \$1,200 for a total contribution of funds of \$10,800.

The Contributor's legal counsel was present and advised that the additional alleged overcontribution of \$1,200 is already included in the legal proceedings and requested that the Committee not commence additional legal proceedings.

The Candidate was not present.

The Committee finds that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the Contributor has exceeded the contribution limits under Section 88.9 of the Act. Based on the fact that the charges before the court include the period of September 1, 2022 to February 28, 2023, the charge already includes the additional alleged overcontribution in the legal proceedings. As such the Committee will not be recommending commencing additional legal proceedings against the Contributor.

Election Compliance Audit Committee Decision respecting Darivoj Vranich (Contributor) Page 2

Dated at the City of Hamilton November 24, 2023.

Written and approved by the following Committee Members:

Cal DiFalco, Chair

Jonathan van der Heiden

Zachary Spicer

Linda Lister, Vice-Chair

MMAN E. SAUMDERS

Vivian Saunders