Road Closures

The City of Hamilton's listing of scheduled temporary full road closures for:

  • construction
  • filming
  • special events

The listing does not include unscheduled or emergency closures. 

Corridor activity mapping

An interactive map that displays:

  • Road occupancy permits
  • Temporary road closure permits
  • Capital projects

View the corridor activity online mapping

Road closures are listed in the order they are announced.

Temporary road closures


Start/End date: Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Road closure limits: Westbound Sherman Access On-Ramp (from eastbound Kenilworth Access) 
Reason for closure: Concrete scaling maintenance 


Start date: Wednesday, April 24, 2019
End date: Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Road closure limits: Eastbound Sherman Access departure ramp to the lower Kenilworth Access
Reason for closure: Concrete scaling maintenance 


Start date: Wednesday, April 17, 2019
End date: Thursday, April 18, 2019
Road closure limits: Westbound Sherman Access On-Ramp (from eastbound Kenilworth Access) 
Reason for closure: Concrete scaling maintenance 


Start/End date: Monday, April 29, 2019 from 7 am to 6 pm
Road closure limits: Harrisburg Road between Highway 5 to Concession 2W
Reason for closure: Filming


Start date: Wednesday, May 15, 2019
End date: Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Road closure limits: Redfern Avenue between Sanitorium Rd to Jewel St
Reason for closure: Crane works


Start date: Monday, April 22, 2019
End date: Monday, May 13, 2019
Road closure limits: First Road West between Isaac Brock Dr to John Murray St
Reason for closure: Sewer installation and road reconstruction


Start/End date: Thursday, April 18, 2019 from 9 am to 3 pm
Road closure limits: Proctor Blvd between King St to Dunsmure St
Reason for closure: Crane works


Start date: Tuesday, April 16, 2019 from 11 pm to 5 am nightly
End date: Thursday, April 18, 2019
Road closure limits: Beckett Drive (Queen Street Hill) between Queen Street South and Garth Street
Reason for closure: Maintenance 


Start date: Thursday, April 11, 2019 from 9 am to 7 pm daily
End date: Thursday, April 18, 2019
Lane restriction limits: Northbound right lane for a segment of Upper Centennial Parkway (North of Ridge Road)
Reason for closure: Installation of roadside rock-fall protection 


Start date: Monday, April 8, 2019 
End date: Friday, May 31, 2019 (approx.)
Road closure limits: Northbound lane traffic of Locke Street South between Herkimer Street and Hunter Street West  
Reason for closure: Reconstruction Project 


Start date: Monday, April 1, 2019
End date: Friday, May 31, 2019
Road closure limits: Brucedale Avenue between Ivy Lea Place and Sherwood Rise
Reason for closure: Water main valve replacement 


Start date: Monday, January 21, 2019
End date: Tuesday, December 31, 2019 
Road closure limits: Hughson Street between King Street to King William Street
Reason for closure: Development construction


Start date: Monday, January 14, 2019
End date: Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Road closure limits: John Street North between Murray Street to Strachan Street
Reason for closure: Rail bridge replacement


Start date: Friday, November 30, 2018
End date: TBD
Road closure limits: Trimble Road between Hall Road to a point 0.95 km north of Hall Road
Additional Information: The road will remain closed off to vehicular travel in this section while further engineering alternatives are evaluated, including permanent road closure.
Reason for closure: Flooding


No current road closures due to LRT projects.

Contact us

Temporary road closures

For inquiries about these closures, contact:
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 5920
Email: csr_gcm@hamilton.ca

Capital construction projects

For inquiries about capital projects, contact:
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 4313
Search areas affected by City construction projects

For all other inquiries, contact the Customer Service Centre at 905-546-2489.