Driving & Traffic

Road Closures

The City of Hamilton's listing of scheduled temporary full road closures for:

  • construction
  • filming
  • special events

The listing does not include unscheduled or emergency closures. 

Corridor activity mapping

An interactive map that displays:

  • Road occupancy permits
  • Temporary road closure permits
  • Capital projects

View the corridor activity online mapping

Road closures are listed in the order they are announced.

Temporary road closures


Start/end date: Saturday, November 3 from 8 am to 1 pm
Road closure limits: Northbound lanes of Red Hill Valley Parkway
Reason for closure: Road2Hope Marathon


Start/end date: Sunday, November 10 from 10 to 11:30 am
Road closure limits: King Street from Catharine Street to James Street
Reason for closures: Rembrance Day Service & Parade


Start/end date: Monday November 11, 2019
Road closure limits:

  • Downtown Hamilton: King Street from Catharine to James, 10 to 11:30 am
  • Ancaster: Wilson Street from Sulphur Springs to Halson St, 10:30  to 11:30 am
  • Dundas: King Street from Sydenham to Peel, 10:30 am to 12 noon
  • Stoney Creek: King Street from Highway 8 to Green, 10:30 am to 11:30 am
  • Waterdown: Hamilton Street from Cedar to John, 10:30 am to 11:30 am

Reason for closures: Rembrance Day Services & Parades


Start date: Monday, October 21 at 9 am
End date: Saturday, October 26 at 7 am
Road closure limits: King William Street from Hughson Street to John Street
Reason for closure: Utility work


Start date: Tuesday, October 15 at 7 am
End Date: Friday, October 18 at 9 pm
Road closure limits: Union Street from Mill Street South to Main Street South
Reason for closure: Construction of raised concrete channelizing traffic on Union Street  at its intersection with Mill Street South


Start date: Wednesday, October 2
End Date: TBD
Road closure limits: Hwy  8 Hill in Dundas from Bond St. and Hillcrest Ave.
Reason for closure: Washout slope failure


Start date: Tuesday, October 8  
End Date: Thursday, October 17
Road closure limits: Dewitt Road from Dundee Drive and Ridge Road.
Reason for closure: Escarpment wall repairs


Start/Enddate: Saturday, October 19 from 8 am to 8 pm
Road closure limits: Fifty Road from Ridge Road to Highway 8
Reason for closure: Cycling event


Start date: Monday, September 30 at 9 am 
End date: Sunday, December 15 at 9 pm
Road closure limits: Springbrook Avenue from Regan Drive to Garner Road
Reason for closure: Storm and sanitary sewer installation


Start/End date: Sunday, October 20 from 12 noon to 1:30 pm
Road closure limits: Wentworth Street from Charlton Street to Wilson Street 
Reason for closure: Annual Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board Pilgrimage Walk


Start date: Tuesday, September 3 , 2019
End date: Friday, November 29, 2019
Road closure limits: Harrison Road from Hall Road to Kirk Road
Reason for closure: Culvert replacement


Start date: Monday, August 12
End date: Monday, November 4
Road closure limits: First Road West from Mud Street to John Murray Street
Reason for closure: Sewer work


Start date: Monday, June 3, 2019 
End date: Fall 2019 
Road closure limits:  Locke Street from Bold Street to Herkimer Street
Reason for closure: Locke Street reconstruction project


Start date: Tuesday, July 16, 2019
End date: Tuesday, December 31, 2019 
Road closure limits: Hughson Street between Main St & King Street (south leg)
Reason for closure: Development construction


Start date: Tuesday, July 2
End date: November 2019
Road closure limits: Blackheath Road from Hall Road to Haldibrook Road
Reason for closure: Culvert work


Start date: Monday, June 10
End date: Late 2019
Road closure limits: Mountain Brow Road from Flanders Drive to King Road (Burlington boundary)
Reason for closure: New road realignment


Start date: Tuesday, May 21, 2019
End date: November 30, 2019
Road closure limits: First Road West between Mud Street to Green Mountain Road West
Reason for closure: Storm and water installation and road urbanization


Start date: Monday, January 21, 2019
End date: Tuesday, December 31, 2019 
Road closure limits: Hughson Street between King Street to King William Street
Reason for closure: Development construction


Start date: Monday, January 14, 2019
End date: Friday, November 29, 2019
Road closure limits: John Street North between Murray Street to Strachan Street
Reason for closure: Rail bridge replacement


Start date: Friday, November 30, 2018
End date: TBD
Road closure limits: Trimble Road between Hall Road to a point 0.95 km north of Hall Road
Reason for closure: Flooding. The road will remain closed off to vehicular travel while further engineering alternatives are evaluated, including permanent road closure.


No current road closures due to LRT projects.

Contact us

Temporary road closures

For inquiries about these closures, contact:
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 5920
Email: csr_gcm@hamilton.ca

Capital construction projects

For inquiries about capital projects, contact:
Phone: 905-546-2424 ext. 4313
Search areas affected by City construction projects

For all other inquiries, contact the Customer Service Centre at 905-546-2489.