The Hamilton Military Museum

The Hamilton Military Museum was built in the late 1830s. It was originally Sir Allan MacNab’s gatehouse. During your visit you will learn about the War of 1812. The museum features many Canadian military history exhibits.

Exhibits

The War of 1812

On June 1, 1813, Burlington Heights became a fortified supply depot which was approached but never attacked by American forces during the war. Archaeologically recovered artifacts and two original uniforms form the core of the War of 1812 collection.

The Hamilton and Scourge Shipwreck Sites

These unique shipwrecks are the only complete 1812 warships in the world. The well preserved ships sit upright and intact 90 metres below the waves of Lake Ontario, 10.5 km off Port Dalhousie. Digital video and sonar imagery allows visitors to get up close and personal with a time capsule of early 19th century naval life on the Great Lakes.

 Virtual tours of each ship are available as part of Hamilton’s Civic Museums virtual tours.
World War I, 1914 to 1918

The first truly technological war included the first large scale propaganda campaign, the first use of tanks, poison gas and aircraft. Men and women felt lost in a sea of chaos, unable at times to determine the reasoning behind the fighting which dragged on between 1914 and 1918. A video station, posters, uniforms, and temporary grave markers make up this exhibit.


  • $4 for adults ages 18 to 59
  • $3.50 for seniors ages 60 and above
  • $3.50 for students ages13 to 17. Students must show valid student ID.
  • $3 for children ages 6 to 12
  • Infants who are five years old or younger visit for free
  • $10 for a family of two adults and unlimited dependent children under 18 years old

Admission to the Military Museum is included in the cost for Dundurn National Historic Site.

We are located at:
610 York Boulevard, Hamilton, Ontario L8R 3H1
Phone: 905-546-2872
Email: military@hamilton.ca

The Museum is open year-round.

  • Tuesday to Sunday, 12 noon to 4 pm.
  • Closed on Mondays, Good Friday, Canada Day, Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day.

Depending on availability, we will open outside of regular hours for pre-booked groups.

The purchase of a $179 permit is required for all outdoor photography involving 10 or more people. Please call the museum to book your time.

Weddings at Dundurn

Field Trips - Teachers

Take a virtual tour

Social Gatherings - Rentals

Birthday Parties

Group Tours

Corporate Rentals

Events at the Military Museum

We host a variety of events, workshops and exhibitions at the Hamilton Military Museum throughout the year. No two trips are ever the same!


Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, June 27, 2017 to Sunday, July 2, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Canada Day Military Tattoo

Saturday, July 1, 2017
5:00 pm to 7:00 pm

In celebration of Canada’s 150th birthday, enjoy a spectacular military musical celebration and experience a tradition that celebrates 25 years in

Canada 150 Celebration at Dundurn

Sunday, July 2, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Celebrate Hamilton's rich history in Dundurn Park with tours of the restormed home and kitchen garden.

Canada 150 Celebration at Hamilton Military Museum

Sunday, July 2, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Come visit the exhibit "Blood Ties to a Gentle Landscape" - it explores the historic figures who lived around Burlington Heights during the War of

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, July 4, 2017 to Sunday, July 9, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

The Heights: A War of 1812 Tour of Dundurn

Saturday, July 8, 2017
10:00 am to 12:30 pm

Dundurn Castle is built on the history of the War of 1812.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, July 11, 2017 to Sunday, July 16, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, July 18, 2017 to Sunday, July 23, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, July 25, 2017 to Sunday, July 30, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, August 1, 2017 to Sunday, August 6, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, August 8, 2017 to Sunday, August 13, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, August 15, 2017 to Sunday, August 20, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

The Heights: A War of 1812 Tour of Dundurn

Saturday, August 19, 2017
10:00 am to 12:30 pm

Dundurn Castle is built on the history of the War of 1812.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, August 22, 2017 to Sunday, August 27, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 to Sunday, September 3, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, September 5, 2017 to Sunday, September 10, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 to Sunday, September 17, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, September 19, 2017 to Sunday, September 24, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 to Sunday, October 1, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, October 3, 2017 to Sunday, October 8, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 to Sunday, October 15, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, October 17, 2017 to Sunday, October 22, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, October 24, 2017 to Sunday, October 29, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, October 31, 2017 to Sunday, November 5, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, November 7, 2017 to Sunday, November 12, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

We Remember

Friday, November 10, 2017 to Sunday, November 12, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

On Remembrance Day we acknowledge the struggle of men and women in their work toward the goal of peace.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, November 14, 2017 to Sunday, November 19, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 to Sunday, November 26, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 to Sunday, December 3, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, December 5, 2017 to Sunday, December 10, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, December 12, 2017 to Sunday, December 17, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Our Hamilton: Through Their Eyes

Tuesday, December 19, 2017 to Sunday, December 24, 2017
12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Gain insight into the lives of soldiers who protected the freedom of all Canadians in commemoration of our Nation’s 150th Anniversary.

Jerry Muskrat's Greatest Lakes Adventure!

Join Jerry as he rows his way through the cities, towns and parks of the Great Lakes and Saint Lawrence Seaway in his series "The Greatest Lakes – a Jerry Muskrat™ Adventure!"

This MOM (Multimedia Outreach Module) is part of a 5-episode story arc developed in partnership with the Hamilton Civic Museums owned and operated by the City of Hamilton. Other National Historic Sites in the series include the Hamilton Museum of Steam & TechnologyBattlefield House Museum & ParkWhitehern Historic House & Garden and the Hamilton & Scourge shipwrecks National Historic Site.

Watch the full series "The Greatest Lakes" a Jerry Muskrat Adventure at jerrymuskrat.com

Military Museum videos